The Sustainability Prize


The Lab’s Sustainability Prize program at EARTH University has been going strong since 2009. We are very excited to announce that it will be extended for another five years, now to be offered through 2024, thanks to the generous support of Ivor and Barbara Freeman and Joshua Arnow and Elyse Arnow-Brill.

The $10,000 Sustainability Prize is awarded annually to the student project that best exemplifies The Lab’s five core principles of sustainability. The prize money supports project implementation, with $1,000 earmarked for the high school attended by the prizewinner. Going forward, in addition to the annual $10,000 prize, we will also be offering a runner-up prize of $3,000, also to support project implementation.

We look forward to seeing the innovative and entrepreneurial solutions to pressing sustainability challenges proposed by the competition participants in the coming years. Detailed information about all past prizewinning projects can be found here.

2018 prizewinners Mariana da Cruz Albertazzi and Raphaël Loubert with community members at their pilot project

2017 prizewinners Jhoselyn Dayhana Mendoza Lozano and Kalem García Abad and runners-up Johanna Carmona and Carolina Aguilar

Sustainability Prize at EARTH University 2014

2014 prizewinner Antony Castro Rivera with EARTH University faculty members

Sustainability Prize at EARTH University

Participating students in The Lab’s prize program at EARTH University


« Back to Sustainability Prize News